Keerim Kim

Portfolio 3

            In my final portfolio, I wanted to make a new version of portraits that have obscure identities. I added the same screen patterns from my second portfolio, to show that the idea is rooting from the last collection. I made three different portraits, each varied by two color combinations. All portraits are composed of fragmentary pieces. I wanted them to look like a puzzle or a collage piece. By putting fragments, I wanted to convey the idea that the pieces could always fit to any other portraits and make a whole new figure. I kept the figures to be unrecognizable of their age, gender, or race. Also, they are open to any interpretations that for instance, even if the figure has long hair, I would not want to confine it as a female. As for the choice of colors, I intentionally chose unrealistic and neutral colors.

I wanted to combine various techniques and textures on the final portfolio. Also, I added backgrounds to make them look like they are in frames. I worked in monotype, silkscreen, and pochoir. At first, I printed some fragments of the portrait in monotype using crayons. Then, I added backgrounds in oil-based ink. For other parts, I used the silkscreen technique to add solidness in color and shape. Then, for remaining parts I completed them with pochoir technique. Lastly, I polished the edges with using colorpencils to make sharp and clean silhouettes.

final-portfolio-image-list-compressed

 

Portfolio 2

   For my second portfolio, I wanted to keep up my experience with making portraits. My goal was to put creativeness into realistic figures and to modify the original concept they have. This time I wanted to create portraits which does not look like it came from the real world. I tried to combine the realistic features of people with random shapes that have abstract, unnatural details.

For my monotype portfolio, I made two sets of prints that is based on a shape of a faceless man, and added a thick brushstroke shape going across the face. I made two color combinations with the brushstroke. On each one, the colors are blended with water to make blurry effect, and the watery lines are dropping down at the bottom part. For the silkscreen portfolio, I tried to keep the human shape in clean lines and shapes. Therefore, the silhouette of the person is printed in very simple and bold lines. Over his face and body, I put solid shapes of geometric forms to complete a collage effect. I tried to use a variety of colors and different combinations of shapes on both portfolios. My intention was to distort the figures into random silhouettes to intend open interpretations about their identities.

2nd-portfolio-image-list-compressed

Portfolio 1

  My influences are usually from what I like and am familiar with. Oftentimes, I create works that are inspired from specific objects, rather than from abstract concepts. Instead of focusing on every realistic detail, I try to convey my genuine feelings of it, and to capture its peculiar atmosphere at most. I like expressing my feelings within lines. By experiencing with the flow of lines, I get to create something that comes accidently. Based on the idea of what I perceive, I like getting random results and new ideas to work for. My goal is to reach that effortlessness and a slight imperfection of something, to balance the reality with creativity.

People are one of my biggest motivations. I love seeing people’s different individuality. Especially, I think one’s personality and distinctive atmosphere comes mostly from their faces. For my first monotype portfolio, I started the project from two face drawings. By limiting the works into using two colors helped me to simplify shapes, while emphasizing on rough lines. As a subject for the screen-printing, I chose cactus with flowers. I always wanted to make an artwork of a cactus because it has such unique identity in its nature. I wanted to portray the features into simple lines. Then I experienced with transparencies, photo emulsion process, printing it on screen and it was interesting to see how it turned out. I worked on several color combinations and also added backgrounds.

1st-portfolio-image-list

Leave a comment