Deborah Wares

Portfolio 3

I believe I have come full circle in this exploration of line and color. The forms of Egrets which I portrayed in both monotypes and screenprints continue to be organic and somehat abstract. I have played with color mixtures using blue and yellow paints to produce varying shades of aqua and green on portions of the screenprints and pochoirs. The final monotype for the Third Portfolio is representational and returns to my first color choices – black and white. This lovely picture of two nesting Albatross is clearly realistic rather than abstract and realistic in the choice of colors as well.

Overall I have found the movement between representational and abstract and between vivid colors and stark black and white to be challenging. I hope to continue to explore the abstract in other classes as well as in my personal paintings. I recently worked on a small portrait of a sheep dog and the approach to the painting was directly influenced by this process. To desctibe the painting briefly, I chose blue/black for the canvas prime coat. Instead of “drawing” the dog, I used a dry brush technique to give the impression of the dog’s floppy and flowing hair. While this first version is somewhat simple, I will continue to explore this style in future works.

 

Portfolio 2

The exploration of line has moved into more organic forms as my work with monotypes and screen prints continues. The suble and flowing shapes of the birds I have chosen to work with have begun to intrigue me in the sense that they are morphing into fluid lines as opposed to “birds”. Black contiues to be the prime color with variations in blue and yellow.

I continue to explore color and abstract forms; this time in the works of Carmen Herrera entitled Lines of Sight at the Whitney Museum. Unlike Helen Frankenthaler, Herrera’s lines are clearly represented and geometrical in form. She does share the use of vivid colors which attacted me to Frankenthaler two years ago.

 

Portfolio 1

Line and form have been the basis of my early work. The landscapes I paint are representational with one or two brief excursions into abstract views. The most influentiaI artists have been Camille Corot, Camille Pissarro and Georgia O’Keeffe. I am trying to incorporate motion and depth into my paintings. Color has always been a necessary component. Now I am looking for the drama in black and white as well as the depiction of the passage of time.

While my initial painting experiences have been with landscapes, individual aspects of nature and animals have become increasingly important, as indicated by my choices of a praying mantis and leaves for my First Portfolio. Color continues to be a priority as demonstrated by the choice of Helen Frankenthaler for my Artist Presentation. Adding to my exposure to abstract form is another reason for examining her work.

image-list-deborah-wares

Leave a comment